Demons Are A Girl’s Best Friend ~ Linda Wisdom

  • Title: Demons Are a Girl’s Best Friend
  • Author: Linda Wisdom
  • Series: Demon’s #1
  • Genre: UF, PNR
  • Format: eBook
  • Source: Own Copy
  • Reviewed by: Soo
  • Rating: 3 out of 5

Description:  Feisty witch Maggie enjoys her work as a paranormal law enforcement officer—that is, until she’s assigned to protect a teenager with major attitude and a sleazy boyfriend. A group of satanic Mayans priests has decided Courtney has a drop of divine blood in her—making her just the virgin sacrifice they need to release their God and rule the world.

To prevent this catastrophe, Maggie must team up with half fire demon Declan, the proprietor of Damnation Alley, an underground club and busy demon portal. Declan will be damned if he’ll allow his demon race to be blamed for the malicious acts of some evil Mayans. So he decides to seduce the sexy witch in an effort to discover what the law enforcement agency knows about the Mayan’s plans, but then things get more than a little hot, and Declan finds himself seriously entangled with the sexiest woman he’s ever met…

*Potential Spoilers*

Review:  Maggie O’Malley isn’t a typical petite blonde in skimpy club clothes. She’s a centuries old Witch and a part of the Hellion Guard. The Guard is a select police force for the supernatural community that lives amongst the uninformed average Dick & Jane. Maggie’s group followed a lead to capture a Bloater at Damnation Alley. Everything went as planned until the Bloater blew up and splattered icky goo all over Maggie and the club. First impressions matter! It’s a good thing Declan, the club owner, saw Maggie before the goo-tastic explosion because more than one kind of spark lite when Maggie and Declan meet for the first time. Add a mouthy, rebellious teenager, grumpy gnome boss, portents of world destruction and a mile high ice cream sundae to get a small but hilarious insight into Demons Are a Girl’s Best Friend.

The story caught my grin with the first page! I was chuckling and laughing a lot as I read the novel. The characters are engaging, the plot moved along at a decent clip, and it was easy for me to imagine the world that Linda Wisdom created for the book.

It’s very cute. I suppose I should think Maggie is badass and Declan is swoon worthy but I see them as a cute couple who kind of fell into another Armageddon plot and kind of saved the world in passing. The story isn’t about being a great warrior or witch. It’s about Maggie’s family of friends, falling in love, and figuring out how to make that all work despite ingrain prejudices.

I love a steamy love scene. However, I think this story would have been better if the love scenes were more vague and leave it up to the reader’s imagination. Most of the time, I thought the scenes were corny or very awkward. The dream sequences were great! I enjoyed the creative flair and depth of a different kind of romance.

Initially, I wanted to rate this story 4 stars because I enjoyed reading it a lot. However, a few consistent points keep me from rating it higher. I don’t get a sense of why certain things work the way they do in the story. Maggie’s magic is very powerful and seems to have no drawback. The deal with the Mayans and the climax feels like a passing byplay that I can’t make myself care about too much. I should have been really engaged by the climax and I found myself not caring by the scene. I grinned when the God of Destruction ends up being a Goddess. I rolled my eyes at the events following her appearance.

Yay for Maggie starting a family of her own and finding love! I look forward to seeing what happens to the gang in the next book. I hope the world becomes more fleshed out and that the action of the story is as important as the characters living in it.

Comment Below ~ We want to hear from you.

