Daughter of Smoke and Bone ~ Laini Taylor

  • Title: Daughter of Smoke & Bone
  • Author: Laini Taylor
  • Series: Daughter of Smoke and Bone #1
  • Genre: Fantasy, UF, YA
  • Format: eBook
  • Source: Own Copy
  • Reviewer: Soo
  • Rating: 4 out of 5

Description:  Around the world, black handprints are appearing on doorways, scorched there by winged strangers who have crept through a slit in the sky.

In a dark and dusty shop, a devil’s supply of human teeth grown dangerously low.

And in the tangled lanes of Prague, a young art student is about to be caught up in a brutal otherwordly war.

Meet Karou. She fills her sketchbooks with monsters that may or may not be real; she’s prone to disappearing on mysterious “errands”; she speaks many languages not all of them human; and her bright blue hair actually grows out of her head that color. Who is she? That is the question that haunts her, and she’s about to find out.

When one of the strangers—beautiful, haunted Akiva—fixes his fire-colored eyes on her in an alley in Marrakesh, the result is blood and starlight, secrets unveiled, and a star-crossed love whose roots drink deep of a violent past. But will Karou live to regret learning the truth about herself?

*Potential Spoilers*

Review:   I really loved reading this story! Halfway through, I wanted to send out recommendations to my friends to check it out but I told myself to wait until I finished.

Laini Taylor has this lyrical voice that totally captured my imagination at the beginning of the story. My mind was filled with vividly drawn characters that are sprung from mixing nightmares and dreams–or several mythologies! From the start, I was invested in finding out who Karou is and what will happen to her. I was mildly curious about the cold, unearthly Angel but I really cared about the rebellious artist with an unusual family.

If you like mythical creatures, exotic places, old fashioned fairy tales, boogieman stories & saving the world, I’m sure you’ll enjoy devouring this story, and sigh at the publication date of the sequel.

I’m torn between rating this story as a 4 or 5… To be fair, it totally deserves to be a 4.5! The only reason I have this dilemma is due to the change in story voice towards the last quarter of the story. Although, Kaori & Madrigal are the same person. They lived very different lives. Laini shows that subtle difference in her writing and that is great! I really loved Karou and had to mourn the change just a little when the two become one. The twist at the end is no surprise to me but I’m eager to see how the story continues in the series.

2 thoughts on “Daughter of Smoke and Bone ~ Laini Taylor

  1. I love how you manage to put into words exactly how I felt when reading this. To be honest I wasn’t really happy about how the story ended, there was no clue that it was leading in that direction and that spoiled it a little for me.

Comment Below ~ We want to hear from you.

