Dead Until Dark ~ Charlaine Harris

  • Title: Dead Until Dark
  • Author: Charlaine Harris
  • Series: Sookie Stackhouse #1
  • Genre: Fantasy, PNR
  • Format: eBook
  • Source: Own Copy
  • Reviewer: Soo
  • Rating: 3 out of 5

Description:  Sookie Stackhouse is just a small-time cocktail waitress in small-town Louisiana. Until the vampire of her dreams walks into her life-and one of her coworkers checks out…. Maybe having a vampire for a boyfriend isn’t such a bright idea.

Review:  I’m a True Blood fan. I was exposed to the TV show before I ever looked into the book series. In my opinion, the books are usually much better than the movies or shows. However, I am not a huge fan of the Sookie Stackhouse series. My friends swore up and down about how awesome it is and how I will absolutely love it!

Nah.

The writing style irritates me to no end.

The characters are more fluffy in the book than they are on the show.

Truly dumb things just happen. As far as I know, for no good reason. Though, I am promised that if I ever read the whole thing, I won’t regret it.

My favorite character is the wacky cook who adds more than a dash of color to the diner-bar. Sadly, he’s not in it very much.

The book is written in a style that would transfer to the screen very easily and I can imagine that the book recording is more entertaining than reading it. In fact, my friends swear that the audio version is terrific! I should give that a shot one day.

I made it halfway into book two and then I put it down. I’m okay with loving the TV show and not the book.

Comment Below ~ We want to hear from you.

