Fifty Shades Freed ~ E.L. James

  • Title: Fifty Shades Freed
  • Author: E.L. James
  • Series: Fifty Shades #3
  • Genre: Erotica, Romance
  • Format: eBook
  • Source: Own Copy
  • Reviewer: Soo
  • Rating: 3 out of 5

Description:  When unworldly student Anastasia Steele first encountered the driven and dazzling young entrepreneur Christian Grey it sparked a sensual affair that changed both of their lives irrevocably. Shocked, intrigued, and, ultimately, repelled by Christian’s singular erotic tastes, Ana demands a deeper commitment. Determined to keep her, Christian agrees.
 
Now, Ana and Christian have it all—love, passion, intimacy, wealth, and a world of possibilities for their future. But Ana knows that loving her Fifty Shades will not be easy, and that being together will pose challenges that neither of them would anticipate. Ana must somehow learn to share Christian’s opulent lifestyle without sacrificing her own identity. And Christian must overcome his compulsion to control as he wrestles with the demons of a tormented past.
 
Just when it seems that their strength together will eclipse any obstacle, misfortune, malice, and fate conspire to make Ana’s deepest fears turn to reality.

Review:  Like a greedy kid before Christmas morning, I did a few technical jumps & vanquish a few demons before I got my hot little hands on this book. The first book in this trilogy became one of my favorite books as soon as I became acquainted with Christian Grey. I eagerly tore into the second novel and impatiently awaited this one.

I’m happy to have wrapped up the series and satisfied my curiosity. Overall, I can’t say I love this book. In many ways, it is the weakest of the three. There are plot holes, hurried scenes, disjointed mental flagellation, and a few loose ends.

The prologue piece is touching but I didn’t think it was a good opener for the story. I wasn’t expecting surprises or a twisty plot but the deal with Jack Hyde was a huge stretch for me and I felt pained by Ray’s car accident. That felt more like a plot device than another piece of the story.

Parts I Love

– Kinky fuckery (Yes, please!)
– Butt inspectorate. (SO funny!)
– Bonus short story from Christian’s POV. LOVE!!!
– Christian Grey, Fifty Shades
“My world was ordered, calm and controlled, then you came into my life with your smart mouth, your innocence, your beauty, and your quiet temerity… and everything before you was just dull, empty, mediocre… it was nothing.” (Favorite Quote)

Thank you, E.L. James! It has been an interesting ride. I look forward to your next work.

*Note that the book only received a 3 star rating from me because I am a fan of the trilogy. It does not reflect how I feel about the writing. This book is the worst book in the series. In fact, this series is the only one that I know of where the books get worse with each addition.

Comment Below ~ We want to hear from you.

