Mockingjay ~ Suzanne Collins

  • Title: Mockingjay
  • Author: Suzanne Collins
  • Series: The Hunger Games #3
  • Genre: Fantasy, Sci-Fi, Dystopian
  • Format: eBook
  • Source: Own Copy
  • Reviewer: Soo
  • Rating: 3 out of 5

Description:  Against all odds, Katniss Everdeen has survived the Hunger Games twice. But now that she’s made it out of the bloody arena alive, she’s still not safe. The Capitol is angry. The Capitol wants revenge. Who do they think should pay for the unrest? Katniss. And what’s worse, President Snow has made it clear that no one else is safe either. Not Katniss’s family, not her friends, not the people of District 12. Powerful and haunting, this thrilling final installment of Suzanne Collins’s groundbreaking The Hunger Games trilogy promises to be one of the most talked about books of the year.

Review:  Stars and ratings–what a pain! My first impulse was to give this story a 4 out of 5 but my brain kicked in and I settled for three. Why? The trilogy was one long novel that was split up in three parts. The first two books setup the main action of book three. There’s a lot of great moments in book three that totally played with my emotional strings; however, the climax? The wrap-up of the story? It felt rushed, skipped over and brief in details. The epilogue was like an afterthought to tie up ends that didn’t need to be knotted. I enjoyed reading the series but I feel a lingering dissatisfaction that would be hard to define. The plot line wasn’t very subtle and the characters were exactly who they appeared to be. The series should have been a plot driven but I feel that it was the characters who saved the trilogy from being average. I wanted more from the plot than what ended up appearing on the page. My expectations are higher than what I read and that’s why I’m not entirely pleased with the series. It’s good, light reading but not one that I would call very substantial. Read it for fun! That’s my recommendation.

Comment Below ~ We want to hear from you.

