Part 2: Fifty Shades Darker ~ E.L. James

  • Title: Fifty Shades Darker
  • Author: E.L. James
  • Series: Fifty Shades #2
  • Genre: Erotica, Romance
  • Format: eBook
  • Source: Own Copy
  • Reviewer: Soo
  • Rating: 4 out of 5

Description:  Daunted by the singular sexual tastes and dark secrets of the beautiful, tormented young entrepreneur Christian Grey, Anastasia Steele has broken off their relationship to start a new career with a Seattle publishing house. But desire for Christian still dominates her every waking thought, and when he proposes a new arrangement, Anastasia cannot resist. They rekindle their searing sensual affair, and Anastasia learns more about the harrowing past of her damaged, driven, and demanding Fifty Shades. While Christian wrestles with his inner demons, Anastasia must confront her anger and envy of the women who came before her and make the most important decision of her life. Erotic, sparkling and suspenseful, Fifty Shades Darker is the irresistibly addictive second part of the Fifty Shades trilogy.

*Potential Spoilers*

Review:   Unlike my other reviews, I decided to write this one in two parts. I became a little creative with the process. You’ll see what I mean. 😉

-= Part Two =-

I really enjoyed reading Fifty Shades Darker but I was overwhelmed by the story. So much happened that I had to take breaks while I read. I love Christian and Ana. They are characters that will always have a spot in my heart. The range of trials they face, the emotional roller coaster they ride, the fears they face, and the choices they make to be together fill my mind with vivid imagery and my heart with rioting emotions.

This book gets 4 stars because there were enough disruptive elements that I wasn’t able to stay immersed in the story.

I was happy with the choice Ana made at the end of Fifty Shades of Grey. It wasn’t romantic or nice but it was a strong choice to give up the man you love due to circumstances that would force them both to break. I felt a twinge when I read how Ana mourned Christian. I was delighted when Christian quickly took action to gain Ana back. The way Christian goes all out for what he wants is an amazing strength and cutting downfall.

I enjoyed the how Christian and Ana face their jealousy. Neither of them are perfect in their reactions but they both worked to overcome it. Well, maybe Ana didn’t try nearly as hard as Christian.

Outstanding Moments:

– Christian asks Ana to give him another chance, admits how he felt when she left and decided to change in order to be with her.

– Ben & Jerry’s and Ana love making scene. Totally fun!

– Christian falling apart and surrendering into his submissive role.

– Sexual elevator shenanigans. In particular, the restaurant elevator scene was steamy but a little unbelievable.

– Ana embracing a bit of Christian’s sexpertise and accepting pleasurable pain. Particularly the scene in the Red Room for Christian’s birthday.

– Christian goes missing. Ana having her own moment of utter despair and realizing how much Christian means to her.

– The family surrounding Christian with their love when he shows up unharmed.

– Mrs. Robinson/Elena’s jealous shouting match with Ana in the middle of Christian’s birthday party.

Forced Parts: (Scenes that didn’t seem to fit.)

– I didn’t like the book having a prologue. To me, the story is about Ana and how Christian wins her over. I learn about everything via Ana’s viewpoint. The nightmare would have had more impact if it happened within the story as the story progressed.

– Outro: Evil Jack showing his hand. Once again, I felt this piece was forced into the story. James does a great job of subtly hinting at events by placing actions, thoughts & events. I already had the sense that there is something more to the helicopter malfunction. It was heavy handed to add the “exit” scene to the book.

– Too many sex scenes. There were so many sex scenes that the impact of the powerful ones were made less than they are.

– Ana’s Turmoil. In the 1st book, there was a better balance of what Ana was thinking and obsessing over with her actions. In this one, there was an imbalance between her mental see-saws & actions. For example, James effectively hinted towards something fishy about Jack in book one. Then proceeded to embellish that idea by how he treated Ana. She had some mental conflicts about the situation but they were balanced by her making choices and being active. However, when it comes to Christian, Ana seemed more flighty and indecisive.

– Ana’s catchphrases: Holy____ & Oh my – I really like those phrases but they showed up way too much and became somewhat annoying.

– Happily Ever After Syndrome: I’m happy about Kate & Elliot getting involved. But now Mia has the hots for Ethan? … Part of the charm of the series is how Christian & Ana have to deal with the good & the bad. If everyone ends up in a healthy relationship, I may need to let out my tomboy side and barf a little.

Overall, I still LOVE Christian Grey and like Anastasia Steele. I can’t wait to get my hands on Fifty Shades Freed!

Comment Below ~ We want to hear from you.

