Switch ~ Megan Hart

  • Title: Switch
  • Author: Megan Hart
  • Genre: Erotica
  • Format: eBook
  • Source: Own Copy
  • Reviewer: Soo
  • Rating: 4 out of 5

Description:  The bestselling author of “Dirty” and “Tempted” is back with another erotic novel about a woman who submits to the commands detailed in an anonymous note. Original.

Don’t think.
Don’t question.
Just do.

The anonymous note wasn’t for me. Don’t get me wrong, I’m not in the habit of reading other people’s mail, but it was just a piece of paper with a few lines scrawled on it, clearly meant for the apartment upstairs. It looked so innocent, but decidedly– deliciously–it was not.

Before replacing the note–and the ones that followed –in its rightful slot, I devoured its contents: suggestions, instructions, summonses, commands. Each was more daring, more intricate and more arousing than the last… and I followed them all to the letter.

Before the notes, if a man had told me what to do, I’d have told him where to go. But submission is an art, and there’s something oddly freeing about doing someone’s bidding…especially when it feels so very, very good.

But I find that the more I surrender, the more powerful I feel–so it’s time to switch up roles.

We play by my rules now.

Review:  In tangential leaps of thoughts & memories, I decided to have a little Hart-a-thon once I finished another trilogy. I wasn’t sure if I would like the story because of a review I read but I figured it wouldn’t hurt to try. I just finished the story.

Switch is beautiful.

As a sensualist, it’s habit to perceive everything in as many ways possible. How unusual and yet fitting to read about the art & love of writing in a book. It’s not often that people think about different kinds of paper and writing equipment. With the age of technology blurring the lines, writing by hand is becoming a lost art.

The title and cover are a bit misleading. Both show an aspect that’s very important to the story but it’s only a part of the whole.

Paige is a woman of steely determination and she never fails to complete any action she’s chosen to do. The story is about her life, and the meandering paths it takes as she explores desires, push herself to grow past her perceived limitations, face fears that are true but no longer applicable and learn to be true to herself in every way. Sometimes, it’s harder to face the truth and embrace it then to continue an old lie.

The narration voice is soft and tender. Even the parts that are stark, crass, shiveringly sexy, defiant and more are all told in a calm, soft voice. This story isn’t written in a manner to make you like Paige, her ex-husband, her odd family, Mr. Mystery, or knowing Miriam. It’s not about that. It’s about seeing life with all its flaws and joy from Paige’s eyes. To take a journey of discovery in a very important part of her life, and to celebrate it in it’s simple complexity.

Comment Below ~ We want to hear from you.

