Beautiful Creatures ~ Kami Garcia

  • Title: Beautiful Creatures
  • Author: Kami Garcia
  • Series: Castor Chronicles #1
  • Genre: UF, PNR, YA
  • Format: eBook
  • Source: Own Copy
  • Reviewed by: Soo
  • Rating: 1 out of 5

Description:  Lena Duchannes is unlike anyone the small Southern town of Gatlin has ever seen, and she’s struggling to conceal her power, and a curse that has haunted her family for generations. But even within the overgrown gardens, murky swamps and crumbling graveyards of the forgotten South, a secret cannot stay hidden forever.

Ethan Wate, who has been counting the months until he can escape from Gatlin, is haunted by dreams of a beautiful girl he has never met. When Lena moves into the town’s oldest and most infamous plantation, Ethan is inexplicably drawn to her and determined to uncover the connection between them.

In a town with no surprises, one secret could change everything.

Review:   1.5 Stars – I don’t hate this book but I don’t like it either. I would not recommend this story to anyone to read. However, I freely admit that there is a glimmer of promise in the vast waste of pages and that deserves more than a one star rating.

I lost count of how many times I had to make myself pick this book back up to read. The only reason I finished the book at all is due to the fact that a friend asked me to read it to the end. My opinion of the novel is slightly better than the initial response I had to the story.

Beautiful Creatures has a handful of interesting ideas & characters. I wish the book had lived up to the promise and praise I heard so much about. That would have made the reading experience more enjoyable.

1. I should not be able to tell that there’s more than one writer telling the story but it’s obvious because the flow of the story changes drastically in uneven patches that makes me think of an unpredictable roller coaster ride.

2. I heard loads of praise because the main POV is male. It would be nice if it actually sounded like a male character. I didn’t know that the POV was from a boy’s perspective until Amma calls Ethan down for breakfast. Sadly, the confusing & inconsistent female voice is there for most of Ethan’s POV. Some people claimed that Ethan’s character is too nice and doesn’t act like a real teenage boy. That’s true. However, I could have looked over that if he at least thought & spoke like a boy.

3. The utter gross exaggeration of the south and the bludgeoning of small town habits went from quaint to annoying to please kill me now & can you shut up. I grew up in the south and I’ve lived in small towns. Maybe this is what you get when you write about something you don’t really understand. Going by the writing, I would not say the authors really know about the southern lifestyle.

4. The bad grammar in the story is a total turn off. The authors are two well educated women and I’m sure there was an editor that also assisted with the book. I don’t understand why there are so many grammar mistakes.

5. I love romantic stories, adventure, ghosts, nutty conflict, zany characters and all that jazz. I had many people telling me that I will gain those elements by reading this book. All I got is a handful of promising characters with a few twists and tweaks that failed to really make a dent in actual progress or live up to the promise. Things would happen in the story and I would wait for it to mean something or for the characters to do something that makes an impact. Yet, all I really observed are the characters going down a predictable path, taking predictable actions, and the somewhat interesting elements being explained away as “mysterious knowledge you can’t have because you’re too young or something blah blah blah”. I guess some of those unexplained bits are explained later in the rest of the series. However, I do not have any desire to read the rest of the series.

6. I don’t understand why the book is as long as it is. It could be cut down to half the length and be much more enjoyable to read. That way, it would not take over a 100 pages to engage my interest. I was kidding when I said it would suck if the book doesn’t get interesting until the last 100 pages. Well, I was kidding. Then it happened. That’s a sad state for a story.

Comment Below ~ We want to hear from you.

