Cast in Moonlight ~ Michelle Sagara West

  • Title: Cast in Moonlight
  • Author: Michelle Sagara West
  • Series: Chronicles of Elantra #0.5
  • Genre: Fantasy
  • Format: eBook
  • Source: Own Copy
  • Reviewed by: Soo
  • Rating: 3 out of 5

Description:  Barely a teenager, Kaylin Neya is a thief, a fugitive and an attempted assassin. She also has a smart mouth, sharp wits and mysterious markings on her skin. All of which make her perfect bait for a child prostitution sting in the city of Elantra – if she survives her first meeting with the Hawks!

Join Kaylin for more adventures in the Chronicles of Elantra.

Cast in Moonlight can be read in the anthology Harvest Moon.

*Potential Spoilers*

Review:  I love the series and I’m eager for any story that extends the world of Elantra and expands on Kaylin’s life. This short story is about how Kaylin Neya becomes a part of the Hawks. You get a front row seat to watch what happened when Kaylin sneaks into the Tower to kill the Hawklord and fails with rigid grace.

The story voice is not quite what I’m used to hearing when I read the series. It feels unfinished and uneven. The polished parts shine clearly and the rest kind of bumps along the way. I already love the characters & the world. Without that base, I would not have been as interested in this story. As a stand alone story, it’s weak.

I don’t understand why Kaylin isn’t thrown into a cell and kept there until farther investigation. I do gain a clear picture of why Ironjaw, Caitlin, Teela, Tain, and Clint end up caring about Kaylin. It’s a mix of their inner natures and Kaylin winning them over by her awkward but passionate actions. I do not get a clear picture of why the Hawklord goes beyond normal measures to keep Kaylin safe.

There are a couple of inconsistencies written here that don’t match up with events in the series. Like, we’re not suppose to know Red’s real name until much later. Kaylin has significant interactions with Ceridath but that part isn’t made known. They’re made into disgruntled strangers. In book one, I recall Kaylin saying she killed three men at this event but it turns out to be two here.

I know that the case they are investigating in the story is about kidnapped children sold into captivity but I didn’t get that knowledge from the story. Perhaps if I had read this short story first and then read the first book in the series, I would enjoy it more.

It’s really cool to read the story about how Kaylin starts her life with the Hawks. I gained insight into a part of Kaylin’s past that I’ve wondered about and that’s cool. Too bad that the short story doesn’t stand well on it’s own without further knowledge a reader gains by reading the series.

Comment Below ~ We want to hear from you.

