Soul Avenged ~ Keri Lake

  • Title: Soul Avenged
  • Author: Keri Lake
  • Series: Sons of Wrath #1
  • Genre: UR, PNR, Fantasy
  • Format: eBook
  • Source: Author
  • Reviewed by: Soo
  • Rating: 4 out of 5

Description:  Passion is blind in vengeance and love …

Ayden’s suburban home was invaded by a pack of Lycans.

The brutal attack is the only memory she carries of her former life.

Now, one motive burns in her soul:

KILL THEM ALL.

The Sons of Wrath—a brood of vengeance-dealing warrior demons—band with Ayden to hunt the Lycans on Detroit’s most deadly feeding grounds.

Kane Walker should’ve been her easiest kill.

Unfortunately, the newly bitten Lycan has something she wants—clues that may finally lay her past to rest. To reach them, she must be willing to submit to the sensual pleasures awakened by his touch.

Time is running out.

In seven days, Kane will become what Ayden despises most. She can halt his transformation but the antidote requires the ultimate sacrifice. As the beast takes hold, Kane becomes more of a threat.

Ayden must choose between her lust for revenge, or surrender to her enemy and discover a horrible truth.

Sons of Wrath
Never gamble with vengeance …

*Potential Spoilers*

Review:  Ayden has only one purpose in life. She is driven to hunt down the Lycan, shapeshifters that can take the form of any animal, and destroy the one that mauled her. She doesn’t remember her past. She can barely remember the attack that changed her life forever. Ayden had been taken in by a mad biochemist that plans to eradicate the Lycans by creating a warrior force of engineered soldiers that he calls Alexi. All her memories are taken away and she is only left with the horror of the Lycan attack. Ayden’s mind and body is retrained to become a lethal killing machine and the best of the Alexi. Driven by rage and guilt, Ayden runs away to seek vengeance in her own terms and to deliver it with her own hands. She didn’t expect to make friends who would accept her for who she is. She didn’t expect to feel strong emotions other than satisfaction of killing Lycans and the elusive relief that she gains with each slice of the blade. She didn’t expect to remember.

Before or after, it doesn’t matter. Ayden will fight to her last breath for what she believes in.

~=~

I love the ideas that make up the foundations of the story. I care about the characters and I want to know more about them. The Demon and Lycan cultures are interesting and I want to know more about how it works. I’ve only gained a small glimpse of the Lycan world and a larger piece of the Demons. Keri has a different take on both that captures my attention and has me looking forward to more.

Although Ayden is the pivotal figure of the story, I am much more interested in the Wrath brothers and Kane. Ayden is a hardass! She’s a prickly cactus that’s hard to love, but the demon brothers and Kane show multiple aspects and their personalities totally engaged my imagination! All of the men live life to the fullest. Each one embracing and expressing their individual ideals in ways that’s unique to them. In Soul Avenged, I only got a taste of who they are and a glimpse of their story. I want more!

So much happens! I wonder how Ayden will grow as a character. It’s hard to care about a character who tries to be a blood thirsty killer and works hard to not feel anything that isn’t the drive to kill. Kane changes all of that and I definitely rooted for that guy! Of all the important characters, there are only small glimpses into Ayden. What’s she going to be like in the next book? I want to know because I like seeing the layers.

The first chapter is disorientating because of the perspective changes going from internal dialogue to limited third person viewpoint. It’s like I’m thrown into an ongoing conversation without a point of origin and I’m left to flounder around like a fish out of water until I connect inconsequential dots. Instead of being immersed in a high tension scene with intense emotions, I’m mostly apathetic. Why should I care that a killer is in a disgusting factory full of homeless people that serve as bait for pillaging Lycans? Why should I care when the female killer wants to kill a Lycan victim? There was no reason for me to connect with any of the characters or the quick fight scene.

It’s cool that Lycans can change into any animal shape. The possibilities are endless! I also like that it takes a bite victim seven days to completely change and that there are definitive changes in physiology, mind, emotions and driving instincts. You’re not just human anymore, but you’re not a just an animal either.

While I like the insight I gained into the characters by the internal dialogue, I felt that was overdone at points in a redundant or overly descriptive or explanatory manner. Sometimes, I need a little mystery. I want to be teased by a drop of information and lured to see where it leads.

Logan! NOOOOOOO! I have my fingers crossed for you!

Calla is a rather useless character. I feel like that’s a setup to make Logan and Calla to bond. I’m not sure how I feel about that. Gavin is awesome and I hope he ends up with the Sabelle. I can’t WAIT for Zeke to fall in love. I hope he suffers just a tiny, little bit and have the guys snorting with love. I mean, that lust-maniac deserves to feel the tender mercies of love and the emotional roller coaster we all know well. Hahahah!

Kudos for weaving a subtle plot line about Wade being the mastermind behind the calculated attacks. I was guessing that was the case for Ayden but I didn’t draw the conclusion he was controlling as much as he did. Draven getting into the Wrath household seemed pretty weak to me. Plus, I had a hard time believing Draven could attack Calla with so little interference. The Demon brothers are smart and Bennett isn’t a pushover. I had a hard time swallowing those scenes. Don’t you know that you have me fully believing in their abilities to instill fear and kick supernatural butt?!?

The story flow wasn’t completely smooth but there’s such strong elements that I have to give this book 4 stars! I can’t wait for the next book to come out and read more about the group of misfits that I’ve come to like a lot.

Thanks, Keri, for letting me be a reader of your book. What a great way to be introduced to your work. I look forward to many more engaging stories from you.

Comment Below ~ We want to hear from you.

