Pawn of Prophecy ~ David Eddings

  • Title: Pawn of Prophecy
  • Author: David Eddings
  • Series: The Belgariad #1
  • Genre: Fantasy
  • Format: Audio book
  • Source: Overdrive digital library
  • Reviewed by: Valerie
  • Rating: 4 out of 5

Description:  Long ago, the Storyteller claimed, in this first book of THE BELGARIAD, the evil god Torak drove men and Gods to war. But Belgarath the Sorcerer led men to reclaim the Orb that protected men of the West. So long as it lay at Riva, the prophecy went, men would be safe.

But Garion did not believe in such stories. Brought up on a quiet farm by his Aunt Pol, how could he know that the Apostate planned to wake dread Torak, or that he would be led on a quest of unparalleled magic and danger by those he loved–but did not know…?


Review: 
I am not sure how I missed this series in my youth. I wish I had discovered it back then because I think I would have enjoyed it more. I liked the book, but these days I prefer darker fare with more battles and fights to the death.

The book offered up some great adventure and suspense. I was really touched by Garion’s struggle with his identity as he begins to discover that his life was not exactly what he had grown up believing.

It bugged me a little that they kept treating Garion like a much smaller child, despite his age of 14. The author even would occasionally acknowledge this through Mister Wolf, but then all of the adult characters, including the wolf would continue on as if the lad were only ten or eleven. Maybe this was a plot device to keep the writing more appealing to youth?

This was quite clearly a first book in a series. It was written to introduce characters and set up world-building. The classic fantasy landscape has always appealed to me and it did so in this case. The characters were vivid and I kind of found myself guilty of ticking off D&D character classes as they were introduced.

At times, the pacing was a bit slow for my taste, but overall the story was well-told.

This is a great pick to introduce a young reader to the fantasy genre.

Comment Below ~ We want to hear from you.

