Sealed with a Curse ~ Cecy Robson

  • Title: Sealed with a Curse
  • Author: Cecy Robson
  • Series: Weird Girls #1
  • Genre: UF, PNR, Fantasy
  • Format: eBook
  • Source: Own Copy
  • Reviewed by: Soo
  • Rating: 3 out of 5

Description:  Celia Wird and her three sisters are just like other twenty-something girls—with one tiny exception: They’re the products of a curse that backfired and gave each of them unique powers that make them, well, a little weird…

The Wird sisters are content to avoid the local vampires, werebeasts, and witches of the Lake Tahoe region—until one of them blows up a vampire in self-defense. Everyone knows vampires aren’t aggressive, and killing one is punishable by death. But soon more bloodlust-fueled attacks occur, and the community wonders if the vampires of Tahoe are plague-ridden.

Celia reluctantly agrees to help Misha, the handsome leader of an infected vampire family. But Aric, the head of the werewolf pack determined to destroy Misha’s family to keep the area safe, warns Celia to stay out of the fight. Caught between two hot alphas, Celia must find a way to please everyone, save everyone, and—oh, yeah—not lose her heart to the wrong guy or die a miserable death. Because now that the evil behind the plague knows who Celia is, he’s coming for her and her sisters.

This Wird girl has never had it so tough.

Review:  Out of four girls, Celia is the oldest and she’s held herself responsible for her siblings. These knockout women live together in a sleepy cul de sac near Lake Tahoe. They just want to live their lives, work hard at their jobs and keep a low profile. None of them want to advertise that they’re different. You see, a long time ago, the Wird sisters were cursed. They just didn’t know how the curse would affect them until their unique abilities materialized. You could say that each sister’s personality is characterized by their ability.

Celia’s ability allows her to change her form to become a tempestuous tigress. She can change completely or focused parts of her body. The downside is that she can also change into any animal that touches her when she’s not paying attention. With her wild, curly locks and take charge attitude, Cel hasn’t had the best of luck with men or dating. Most of them are too scared to ask her out, let alone go on a date! Just when she feels doomed to becoming an old maid, two vibrant and strikingly different men come into her life. Neither of them are the type to take no for an answer. Well, tough! Celia isn’t the type to meekly follow anyone. Even if she wants to melt into a pair of brown eyes and sink into the warmth of a particular man’s arms.

Cecy Robson, you have a rockin’ way with words when it comes to a fight! I really appreciate that! I genuinely enjoyed reading most of the fight scenes in the story. I hardly ever feel that way and it’s nice to not breeze over the action. YAY!

The slightly different take on vampires and werewolves gives the story a fresh perspective that I really enjoyed. Usually, I feel that there’s too much world building in the first book. Here, I feel there’s just enough to give me an idea of what the world is like but not quite enough to be satisfied. I wanted to sink my teeth into the vampire and werewolf cultures. To get a closer look at the witches and the how magic works.

There’s a discordant duality to the sisters’ story voice and relationship with one another. It’s really uneven to read and process. While I know technically that the sisters love each other a lot, I didn’t always gain that feeling while reading the book. Their interactions with one another ranges from being those of flippant strangers to babysitters and family. From dialogue alone, I couldn’t decide if Celia is 12 or 24. I’m guessing she is older than that and more likely in her late 20’s.

These sisters have really cool abilities! You’ll see.

Without counting the two men friends that are in the girls’ lives, five distinctly interesting alpha males enter the story. Four are werewolves and of the four, Gemini’s ability is really cool! I can’t wait to find out more about them! Let’s not forget about Misha, the arrogant vampire. He is pivotal to the storyline but I feel cheated. There must be more to this man than being the reason why the sisters lose their anonymity and thrust into vampire politics.

At one point of the story, I had to put the book down and give myself a break. I just finished reading a great fight and, while I’m enjoying the glow of people kicking ass, turdball drops a bomb on the sisters that I couldn’t take as a reader or plot device or anything!!! My ruffled feathers were soothed once I picked the story back up. Cecy Robson, you got me! You totally got me with that tidbit.

Due to some of the bumpy bits in the story flow, I’m giving this book 3.5 stars instead of 4. I had to fight with myself a bit with score but that’s how it is. I’ll quote a friend and use her phrase: first book jitters. I really enjoyed reading the story. It’s action packed, has fun characters and lots of potential that I definitely want to explore!

The awkward greeting bits are over, and I’m ready to dive into the heart of the world and the characters. A Cursed Embrace – See you soon! I’ll be ready for you when you’re released for public consumption. 😉

Comment Below ~ We want to hear from you.

