Divine by Mistake ~ P.C. Cast

  • Title: Divine by Mistake
  • Author: P.C. Cast
  • Series:  Partholon #1
  • Genre: Fantasy, UF, PNR
  • Format: eBook
  • Source: Overdrive Library
  • Reviewed by: Sonja
  • Rating: 5 out of 5

Description:  The only excitement Shannon Parker expects while on summer vacation is a little shopping. But when an antique vase calls to her, she finds herself transported to Partholon, where she’s treated like a goddess. A very temperamental goddess…

Somehow Shannon has stepped into another’s role as the Goddess Incarnate of Epona. And while there’s an upside—what woman doesn’t like lots of pampering?—it also comes with a ritual marriage to a centaur and threats against her new people. Oh, and everyone disliking her because they think she’s her double.

Somehow Shannon needs to figure out how to get back to Oklahoma without being killed, married to a horse or losing her mind….

 Note:  I checked this book out of the library as the Nook version that I would have purchased listed the book as the first in the ‘Devine’ series. While I certainly do not care what they called the series, the misspelling of the word ‘Devine’  across the series was irritating enough to me that I refused to purchase it.

 Review:  I am *so* not sure what to rate this book. While the world wasn’t amazing, I absolutely loved the main character. I wanted to spend every waking minute with Shannon/Rhea. She is snarky. She is realistic. She is passionate. She is lovable. She has a heart of gold. Make no mistake: this is a chick book. Males should probably pass on by.

As the synopsis clearly states, Shannon finds herself transferred to another world where she is the “chosen” of the warrior goddess. She also finds that her counterpart was a bit of a . . . Shrew. So, Rhea spends a great deal of time making up for that. 

There are a great many pop culture references. She either dreams about, or hopes to dream about, people like Tom Selleck, Pierce Brosnan and Sean Connery. A girl after my own heart. She was a high school English teacher, and uses these skills frequently as she continues to ‘impersonate’ Rhiannon. There are also frequent Star Trek and Star Wars references. These were so much fun because I felt like I was in on an inside joke. These were always clicheish, yet appropriate, and mostly hysterical. 

She enters this world as, unbeknownst to the people, a race that is considered ‘pure evil’ is about to attack. She, and her band of fearless followers, must quickly build a defense to defeat the monsters. While this plot is not the strongest plot ever devised, it works as a vehicle to spend time with our intrepid heroine. Which is where the strength of the story lies. Most other characters are not nearly as well flesh out, but it *is* told in first person, so this is not really a weakness, just a fact. I knew Shannon was the perfect heroine when she re-wrote the end of The Phantom of the Opera to please her enthralled audience. 

Rather than a romance, I think I would classify this story as a love affair. There is no love triangle. There is no romantic suspense. It is just there and wraps you in its arms. This is definitely, then, a love affair with a bit of fantasy thrown in. A little more lovey dovey than I typically enjoy, but Rhea is just so much darn fun it does not matter. 

Oh, yes, did I mention centaurs? No vampires. (Even though the evil beings are characterized as being “vampire-like”.) No werewolves. But CENTAURS! This, alone, makes this book worth reading.

3 thoughts on “Divine by Mistake ~ P.C. Cast

    • Anytime! 😉 Even though this is a series and I loved this first book, I have to admit I will not be moving on. And, it make me sad because i would really like to spend more time with Rhea. But, I don’t think I would like where the next book takes her (and the remainder are not about her) to the point that it would make me like this book less. So, I am stopping with the first one.

Comment Below ~ We want to hear from you.

