Beautiful Sins: Olivia Lowery ~ Jennifer Hampton

  • Title: Beautiful Sins: Olivia Lowery
  • Author: Jennifer Hampton
  • Series: The Thaneaddus Chronicles #2
  • Genre: UF, PNR, YA
  • Format: eBook
  • Source: Own Copy
  • Reviewed by: Valerie
  • Rating: 1 out of 5

Description:  My name is Olivia Lowery. I’m a wealthy socialite residing outside of the Dark Coast, on the Upper East Side no less. I’m beautiful, I’m privileged and I can have just about any guy that I want. That is… until the morning of my sixteenth birthday. That’s when I discovered something different about myself.

*Potential Spoilers*

Review: 
Despite my extreme annoyance and being pulled into a serial, wading through massive editing issues, and some serious continuity issues in the first book, I decided to purchase and read the 2nd book in the series before judging the series as a whole. Thank goodness I only paid 99 cents for it!

WTF??? If you were expecting to resolve any of the many questions left open from the first book, forget it.  The first book leaves a massive cliff-hanger, and then the second book in the serial picks up with a completely different main character and different story. Furthermore, the characters from the first book were portrayed so differently, I was left scratching my head a bit.

The plot of this story has more holes than a piece of Swiss cheese. It is almost as if the author just sat down and started typing with no idea where the story was really heading. The editing in this book was so much worse than the first. It was difficult at times to keep the characters straight because of editing errors.  Then there were the contradictions; the author cannot seem to decide who is going to be good or evil and who her characters are, and why they would ever trust anyone with all the changing loyalties throughout the story.

While I think the story and world building held potential, I am cashing out.  I have never been the type of reader who needs everything tied up in a neat little bow, but this is a bit ridiculous.  If, as I suspect, the author does not know where this is going, there may never be a satisfying conclusion.

Finally, Ms. Hampton, you provide a disclaimer that you invested more in cover art than in editing the story. Your priorities are messed up. A cover can only get you so far. Your concept is not bad, however, you have damaged your credibility as an author by publishing a book that is so poorly edited and is so inconsistently written. If you are serious about writing, I suggest you rethink your position on this and invest in an editor.

Comment Below ~ We want to hear from you.

