The Spirit Thief ~ Rachel Aaron

  • Title: The Spirit Thief
  • Author: Rachel Aaron
  • Series: The Legend of Eli Monpress #1
  • Genre: Fantasy
  • Format: eBook
  • Source: Own Book
  • Reviewed by: Sonja
  • Rating: 3 out of 5

Description:  Eli Monpress is talented. He’s charming. And he’s a thief.

But not just any thief. He’s the greatest thief of the age – and he’s also a wizard. And with the help of his partners – a swordsman with the most powerful magic sword in the world but no magical ability of his own, and a demonseed who can step through shadows and punch through walls – he’s going to put his plan into effect.

The first step is to increase the size of the bounty on his head, so he’ll need to steal some big things. But he’ll start small for now. He’ll just steal something that no one will miss – at least for a while.

Like a king.

Review:  I really wanted to love this book. I really did. I even purchased the first three books in the series, so confident was I that I would love it. And, it isn’t that I didn’t *like* it – it just failed to grab me. 

Eli is a master thief. Or so the blurb tells me. The blurb also tells me that Josef’s sword is the most powerful magic sword in the world. I would rather have been shown these things than told these things. Eli does not come off as snarky to me, he comes off as arrogant. I really just kinda wanted to punch him in the face.

Our intrepid heroine, Miranda, is . . . boring. Yes, she is a strong magician. Yes, she will do what is right over what is lawful. Even if that means going along with the plans of a thief. But, she just doesn’t have any personality. I had absolutely no emotional connection to her. 

So, we have an arrogant thief and a boring heroine. But, I really liked the relationship between Josef, the swordsman, and Nico the demonseed. He is very protective of her. And, I really want to know why and where it is going. Yet, all the characters seem to be rather one dimensional and only fit that one aspect of the story.

Since I have the second book, I will eventually read it. But, this first one did not excite me enough that I immediately opened the second. None of the characters connected with me on enough of an emotional level that I was desperate to spend more time with them. I have, however, read very good reviews on the 2nd and further books in the series and these say the story really picks up. I am also interested to test that.

2 thoughts on “The Spirit Thief ~ Rachel Aaron

Comment Below ~ We want to hear from you.

