Alien Tango ~ Gini Koch

  • Title: Alien Tango
  • Author: Gini Koch
  • Series: Katherine Katt #2
  • Genre: Sci-Fi, UF
  • Format: eBook
  • Source: Own Copy
  • Reviewed by: Soo
  • Rating: 3 out of 5

Description:  It’s been five months since marketing manager Katherine “Kitty” Katt started working with the aliens from Alpha Centauri, and she and Jeff Martini are getting closer. But when an experimental spacecraft is mysteriously returned to the Kennedy Space Center, Kitty and the rest of her team are called in to investigate. Now the team must survive murderous attacks, remove a space entity from a group of astronauts, and avoid an unhinged woman with a serious crush on Kitty’s high school boyfriend. And that’s all before evil masterminds decide Kitty’s extermination is vital.

Review:  For the Triple K series, I may write each review in two parts. This is the second book in the series and here’s my review. In part one, I’m pretending to be the writer and my thoughts about the book will be in part two.

Part One:

For part one, I am going to pretend that I’m Gini Koch and here are the notes I made in order to write Alien Tango.

CONFLICT:

  • Inter-species Insanity
  • Political Clout BASH/es
  • Love isn’t perfect even if he’s a God in Bed (Hehe God in Bed! Go, Jeff, go!)

Roses are Red,
Violets are Blue,
I’m an alien,
And totally in love with you!

  • Unpredictable Outcomes
  • To be Alpha Centauri or not to be Alpha Centauri
  • Death! Gotta happen
  • Awkward Moments

STEAMY:  Where can I put my golden couple next?

Elevator – CHECK
Bed – LOTS of Checks
Shower – YUP Checks!
Bathrooms – Check
Open Spaces? – Ummm… maybe

NEW CHARACTERS:  (AKA How to drive Jeff nuts! I like it! Good plan.)

  • Brian – Gotta drive Jeff NUTS! Bwahahahha
  • Michael – Not all A.C.’s  are equal, naughty or nice.
  • Mr & Mrs Martini – Where Jeff gets his good looks and temper. No wonder they drive him nuts!
  • Martini Family – SO MANY!!! I need a graph!
  • Kevin – Is the MAN of the hour! Let’s have Kitty and James drool on him. Just a little bit!

LOCATION LOCATION LOCATION:

  • A.C. Bases
  • Desert?
  • Beach?
  • Swamp?
  • Major Cities?
  • HIGHWAY CHASE! Yah! ZOOOOooooOOOM-
  • Moon?
  • Kennedy Space Center?
  • PLANES! Yah! Jet training. Look on Jeff’s face when Kitty pilots a jet! Hahahahahha!

***NOTE*** Extra Crazy! Can’t ever have enough crazy!

Part Two:

Is it bad when killing off superbeing, bad guys are part of the norm and learning to fly a jet is standard safety? Maybe! But that’s what Kitty Katt’s life has become and she isn’t sorry for it. Not one bit! She used to be a normal person with a normal job in marketing. Then Kitty ended up rushing in to kill an alien monster with a ball point pen and everything in her life went flying out of what most would call normal. Turns out her parents aren’t exactly what she thought they were. Her Mom is the head of a anti-terrorist group that answers to the President and her Dad is really a cryptologist working for the government–the E.T. division. Crazy stuff happened, things were blown up and Kitty became a Commanding officer of the Alpha Centauri’s Airborne division. No one could have guessed that one happening in Kitty’s long term career goals!

Just when things are falling into what could be called normal, a new crisis comes up and the A Team is sent out to figure it out. Only life threatening disasters get in the way and it doesn’t really stop. Whatever is going on at the Kennedy Space Center, someone wants to keep the team away from the location and will do anything to stop them. On top of that, Kitty’s not sure how long her relationship with Jeff Martini will last with the Alpha Centauri bane on inter-species marriage. She thought they could just take it as they go but Jeff’s under pressure by his parents to drop their relationship and she can see how much it hurts him.

I was pretty excited to see what happens in book two after being vastly amused and happily surprised a few times in book one. The humor, characters and all remain my favorite parts of the story. I gotta admit that I’m never going to forget Alliflash and Gigantagator! Those two may live in complete infamy! Hahahaha! I wasn’t expecting to not enjoy this book as much as the first one. What can I say? Book one was great and it’s totally a favorite of mine! It’s true. I thought book two would hit the same mark but it didn’t.

What didn’t mesh for me started in the beginning of the story when there’s obviously something going on and not everyone who is in the know is communicating what that is with Martini or Christopher. Those two are the leaders in the field. I can’t imagine them not being informed about anything they should know before they go out to risk their lives for others. This was totally uncharacteristic behavior for the A.C.’s and made it hard to suspend belief as other events occurred. I had a very hard time believing in any of the pivotal events and actions that happened in this book. That fact detracted a good portion of my enjoyment because I felt that I was questioning elements instead of being immersed in the story.

List of LOL – Good Stuff:

– Conversations Jeff has with his parents are hilarious! Very true to form to what my best friend has to deal with her parents. Annoying as crap for her and rather funny for me!

– Kitty’s Libido: I know some people are totally turned off by this and others fall between extremes. I think it’s hilarious and totally believable because I remember how I was when I was in love with a certain someone special. However, even I have to roll my eyes at some parts because there’s no way I’m suppose to take it seriously! Come on. Kitty Katt. Right? Right. Hahahha–

– Jeff Martini: The irony of the God in Bed having the same name of an alcoholic drink that he can’t ever have–it tickles me. Just a little.

– Alliflash and Gigantagator: If you don’t like them, what’s wrong with you?!?!? They’re awesome! Just remember to have running shoes on and maybe a barrier between you and them. It’ll be fine.

– How to maim with a stiletto. I always thought this is standard info but it’s nice to get a refresher.

– Good cars are meant to be driven well and fast! Who says driving in a speedy fashion is only for guys? Not me! It’s one of the great joys in life! I can totally appreciate a vehicle that can turn on a dime.

Truth be told, I didn’t love this book as much as the first but I still had fun reading it. There are several elements of surprise in the book. I wasn’t a fan of the climax and the transitions around the end are rough but there are other parts of the story that rocked. No one is perfect and that’s very true in this series. It’s cool to see the vulnerable side of the cast. My advice is to read the story with no expectations and let your own response to it surprise you. I’m currently reading book three and it’s going well! Keep an eye out for the review. 😉

4 thoughts on “Alien Tango ~ Gini Koch

Comment Below ~ We want to hear from you.

