The Third Lynx ~ Timothy Zahn

  • Title: The Third Lynx
  • Author: Timothy Zahn
  • Series: Quadrail #2
  • Genre: Sci-Fi, Space Opera
  • Format: eBook
  • Source: Own Copy
  • Reviewed by: Soo
  • Rating: 3 out of 5

Description:  Former government agent Frank Compton foiled a plot to enslave the galaxy in Night Train to Rigel. But the Modhri, an ancient telepathically linked intelligence, has walkers, unwilling hosts that can be anywhere, anything…and anyone. And Compton is the only man who knows how to fight them, as they wage a secret war against the galactic civilizations linked by the Quadrail, the only means of intra-galactic transit.

Accompanied by Bayta, a woman with strange ties to the robot-like Spiders who run the Quadrail, and dogged by special agent Morse who suspects him of murder, Compton races the Modhri from station to station to acquire a set of valuable sculptures from a long-dead civilization. What the Modhri wants with them is anybody’s guess, but if Compton can’t outwit it, the whole galaxy will find out the hard way.

Review:  Frank and Bayta are approached by a well clad stranger for assistance on a private matter. Due to prior plans, Frank declines the offer and puts the encounter out of his mind. Matters become more serious when the stranger is found dead and an ESS Agent declares Frank to be the prime suspect of the murder. Frank and Bayta crisscross galaxies as events snowball into a race against the enemy for answers.

I’m sad to say that book two was not better than book one. I had minor expectations of character growth, plot thickening and a twist or two to keep me on my toes. While I wasn’t exactly bored by the first 100 pages, I did feel like I was reading a rudderless story with an unnecessarily long setup. In the first book of the series, I was thrown into a fast moving plot with likable, mysterious characters. Only the last third of this novel read along those lines and I feel disappointed in not getting a bigger view of Frank and Bayta.

I feel that reading this book is important to the overall series. I’m sure there are several important elements have been plopped into the storyline here.

My favorite part of the novel are the scenes where Frank interacts with other species or classes. It’s cool to get a little insight into the races, cultures and habits by how everyone talks and acts. It gives an added flourish to the story and colors the world more in my mental play.

A note: Frank is a Ladykiller!

True or False? You have to read the story to find out.

The story has lots of clever moments, a few twists that took me a while to catch up on and the over arcing point–well, I was surprised!

Frank is a great detective and I’m glad to have seen Fayr in action.

Perhaps the novel is a stepping stone to the next book. I’ll find out soon how it pieces together.

Comment Below ~ We want to hear from you.

