Baking Experiments: “Cake Bread”

For the past week or so, I’ve been having a sweet tooth craving. It’s not enough to drink a glass of juice or grab a can of Coca Cola. Nope! I need something that’s more in the area of dessert:  sweet, potentially unhealthy & just damned tasty! If we’re being bad, I’d totally give Irate Izzy the crazy grin and start talking about chocolate chip cookies. She makes awesome cookies! But it’s never a small batch and we’ll eat it like it’s going out of style! Yup! Totally pig out on delish cookies.

Well, I thought I’d try to stay away from the amazingly evil cookies by trying another food experiment. I’m a great cook! I can make a decent meal by walking into anyone’s kitchen. As long as there are enough edible items in the house to throw together into a meal.

RULE:
What’s available to cook with in the house? Putter around, grab ingredients, let ideas tumble and whip up food from the chaos!

Note:  I’m a great cook. I have no qualms about this. It’s a fact and runs in the family. However, as a baker, I am a total amateur. I accept this. Maybe I hit intermediate level. I no longer have to look up recipes (to not really follow them) and fudge around to create something.

A few days before this particular experiment, I had a craving for doughnuts and made tasty pancake-doughnut-crepe things. Super tasty and really easy to mix & fry. Initially, I planned to make something similar but the box of Oreo pudding mix caught my eye and plans were altered a wee bit!

The following recipe that I’m sharing with you is made up of the real ingredients I used but the amounts are hypothetical guesses that should work (more or less). If you feel adventurous, give it a whirl! I plan to make another batch either tonight or tomorrow.

o–o-o–o

Cake Bread “Delish” Recipe by Soo

1) Prep the oven on Bake at 375.

2) Gather Following Ingredients & Mix in Bowl:

  • 2.5 Cups Flour
  • 1 Oreo Pudding Mix
  • 1 Cup of Water (Maybe 1.5)
  • 2/3 Cup of Veg Oil
  • 3 Eggs (Medium to Large Size)
  • 1 largish spoon of Baking Soda (I suggest less, that’s my plan for next batch.)
  • Goodly Amount of Brown Sugar
  • 1 Tablespoon-ish (Grinding) of Cinnamon Sugar
  • 1/3 Bar of Butter
  • Small Spoon of Black Pepper
  • Smidgen of Salt

3) Pour into baking pan. I used a 9×9 glass pan.

4) Spread Semi-sweet Chocolate Chips (Not Strategically) on Top

5) Bake for about 1 hour. No longer than 1 hr 15 min.

6) Cool, cut & eat!

Final product will be a light to hold, yet hearty cake bread. The sweetness and chocolate flavor is a subtle under layer that teases the taste buds but doesn’t overwhelm. Good to eat by itself or with other stuff.

*Note:  Today, I devoured two slices with Orange-Mango juice. It’s the perfect blend of flavors! SO GOOD!!!

Baking Experiment Results

One thought on “Baking Experiments: “Cake Bread”

Comment Below ~ We want to hear from you.

