Thorns of Glass ~ Kelly Samarah

  • Title: Thorns of Glass
  • Author: Kelly Samarah
  • Genre: Paranormal, UF
  • Format: e-book
  • Source: Author
  • Reviewed by:  Erica
  • Rating: 4 out of 5

Description:  Sam Jude was a typical teen growing up in he 1980’s. He loved his little family; his mom, Cheryl and kid brother, James.

But when Cheryl brings her new boyfriend, Ray home his whole life is turned upside down. Ray is abusive, but more than that. He has secrets. Sam knows he has to find out what they are-they could be the key to saving his family from Ray’s grip.

Sam comes close to revealing Ray’s dark past, but everything changes for him when he wakes up dead. Now he is lost, and his family doesn’t know what happened. Stuck in his house with another ghost, and watching his mom slowly deteriorate with grief, he must find a way to help them from the other side of the glass.

Review:  I have had to think really hard about what rating to give to this book, and for a long time I was wavering between three and four stars. In the end I found that I really could not give it any less than four. Why? Because this isn’t the kind of book I would normally read, yet it still drew me in and gripped me. Not an awful lot happens, when you think about it, yet I wasn’t at all bored reading it.

Sam is dead, and much of the book is devoted to the events that led up to his death. It is never really a mystery how he died (other than the exact circumstances), but that’s not really the point. This is a book about emotional turmoil, about how to deal with grief and frustration and anger, and it is compellingly written.

I had little niggles that stopped it from being five-star, the main one being Ray’s lack of motivation. I never really got to understand why Ray marries Sam’s mother, nor what has made him so evil. Maybe that’s because I simply don’t understand abusive men, but for me there was something lacking there. I also found the ending somewhat unsatisfying, but again that’s more likely due to my own expectations from a book.

Did I think it was good? Yes. Would I read it again? No. But this book was intriguing, and if the description draws you in, I’m sure you won’t be disappointed with the contents.

One thought on “Thorns of Glass ~ Kelly Samarah

  1. Pingback: Thorns of Glass – Kelly Samarah | Theft and Sorcery

Comment Below ~ We want to hear from you.

