Alien Diplomacy ~ Gini Koch

  • Title:  Alien Diplomacy
  • Author:  Gini Koch
  • Series:  Katherine “Kitty” Katt #5
  • Genre:  Science Fiction
  • Format:  eBook
  • Source:  Own Copy
  • Reviewed by: Sonja
  • Rating:  3.5 out of 5

Description:  Kitty Martini are also giving up their roles as super-being exterminators and Commanders in Centaurion Division while mastering the political landscape as the new heads of Centaurion’s Diplomatic Corps. Enter a shadowy assassination plot and a new set of anti-alien conspirators, and nothing will ever be the same…

Review:  This is the one where Jeff and Kitty become Ambassadors. (Though, I am a little unclear as to why American citizens need their own diplomatic corps in the United States. Yes, I realize they are A-Cs (or at least Jeff is) but they are still citizens.) To no one’s surprise, Kitty is a bad diplomat. Ok, at least it doesn’t surprise me. It seems to surprise the characters in the book. Exactly what part of her personality seems in any way diplomatic?

Between the events of book 4 and the beginning of this one, it seems there was a diplomatic ‘incident.’ So, at the beginning of the story, she is going to Diplomacy classes. And, she is failing. There are all sorts of characters with her in this class – and only one with which she has made any connection. He is also failing diplomacy classes. In the process, she and Jeff and the remainder of the gang (which is growing by leaps and bounds – in fact, too quickly to easily track) are forced to save the world. Again. This time from the evil politicians. And, from their accompanying lobbyists. In doing so, the gang demonstrates to the world the true heroes that policemen can be. Yes, it is a tad bit (just a teensy bit) convoluted.

You just can’t force yourself to take any of this seriously. Especially since every *single* time Kitty does anything, her mind *always* returns to the bedroom gymnastics. At this point, Jeff just looks at her and smiles and says, “I like the way you think!” I gotta admit, even though I hate the gymnastics, I love the inside joke. And, by this time, the gymnastics take over entire chapters. The chapters are very short and, thus, easily skipped. I like being able to skip them.

I also must admit I have very little use for politicians. From reading this series, I have to think that Ms. Koch shares my view. That being said, simply the best part of this narrative is Senator McMillan’s take on why he is a senator. If only all politicians felt this way . . .

The long and short of it is this: If you like Kitty (and crew) and just want to spend time with characters you love, this book will be  entertaining. If you demand a convincing plot with appropriate building and developing, you probably should have put Kitty aside about 4 books ago. I have to shamefully admit I enjoy all of these books. I laugh out loud and the pages simply disappear. I am not, however, under any illusion that these books are well developed and established – I just enjoy the ride. A more discerning reader might not be as easily pleased.

I gave the book 3.5 stars – will round up to 4 just cuz it makes me laugh.

 

One thought on “Alien Diplomacy ~ Gini Koch

  1. Pingback: Author Interview: Gini Koch ~ Kitty Katt Series | Silk Screen Views

Comment Below ~ We want to hear from you.

