Alien Tango ~ Gini Koch

  • Title:  Alien Tango
  • Author:  Gini Koch
  • Series:  Katherine “Kitty” Katt, #2
  • Genre:  Science Fiction
  • Format:  eBook
  • Source:  Own Copy
  • Reviewed by: Sonja
  • Rating:  4 out of 5

Description:  It’s been five months since marketing manager Katherine “Kitty” Katt started working with the aliens from Alpha Centauri, and she and Jeff Martini are getting closer. But when an experimental spacecraft is mysteriously returned to the Kennedy Space Center, Kitty and the rest of her team are called in to investigate. Now the team must survive murderous attacks, remove a space entity from a group of astronauts, and avoid an unhinged woman with a serious crush on Kitty’s high school boyfriend. And that’s all before evil masterminds decide Kitty’s extermination is vital.

Review:  When I finished Touched by an Alien, the first book in this series, I had no intention of continuing this series. Absolutely none. That book was not quite what I expected – really don’t know *what* I expected, I just didn’t get it. That being said, I couldn’t get Kitty out of my head – so I gleefully picked up this one. I really enjoyed this one.

The things that bothered me in the first book are still here. Yep, the A-Cs are still beyond gorgeous. Yep, Kitty (the team member for the shortest period of time) still solves everything. Yet, it doesn’t really bother me here. I think this is because it is more understated and less ‘out there’. At this point, these things are mentioned only in passing and we are not beat over the head with them. Therefore, we get to enjoy the snark and relationships without having to suspend belief that they happened at the speed of light. It is the past.

One thing that I believe Ms. Koch does better here than just about any other novelist I can think of is recap. The events of the previous novel are all mentioned, but only when appropriate and only about a paragraph at a time. This enables allows us to be forgetful and be reminded without having a chapter that is basically wasted as a report of the last novel. I appreciated not only the reminders, but their brevity. As I read the books quickly in succession, I didn’t need the recap, but I did not roll my eyes and skip over whole pages either.

We finally meet Chuckie, Kitty’s best friend. We finally get to meet Jeff’s immediate family. And, we understand why he avoids them. But, then, very few of us don’t have at least *some* members of our family that we do not avoid when possible. In addition, the rule against the inter-marriage between A-C/human is finally addressed. Not quite resolved, but at least it is addressed. I really enjoyed the Pontifex’ treatment of this issue. It made me laugh as I have often thought that leaders in other similar situations must feel the exact same way.

There is still gratuitous sex. Kitty really only has one thing on her mind each and every time she sets out to save the world. And, it isn’t saving the world. I will say this – Ms. Koch has many opportunities to insert more gratuitous sex – and she doesn’t. She does, sometimes, close the door and let our imaginations do the rest. I really appreciate that.

I enjoyed this one more than the last. I give it 4 stars.

Comment Below ~ We want to hear from you.

