Blood Cross ~ Faith Hunter

  • Title:  Blood Cross
  • Author:  Faith Hunter
  • Series:  Jane Yellowrock, #2
  • Genre:  Urban Fantasy
  • Format:  eBook
  • Source:  Own Copy
  • Reviewed by: Sonja
  • Rating:  3.5 out of 5

Description:  Jane Yellowrock is back on the prowl against the children of the night

The vampire council has hired skinwalker Jane Yellowrock to hunt and kill one of their own who has broken sacred ancient rules — but Jane quickly realizes that in a community that is thousands of years old, loyalties run deep…

With the help of her witch best friend and local vigilantes, Jane finds herself caught between bitter rivalries — and closer than ever to the secret origin of the entire vampire race. But in a city of old grudges and dark magic, Jane will have to fight to protect both sides, even if no one will protect her.

Review:  I enjoyed Skinwalker, needed another book to read, so I picked this one up. I didn’t like this one as well. I don’t know if it is because it was just more of the same or why – I just didn’t.

First, the good news: Molly is here! With her children. I love the friendship between Jane and Molly. And, the unconditional love and protection that Beast feels toward the children – or kits. The basis of the story is again a mystery. And, Ms. Hunter excels at the mystery. Through its resolution, we learn more of the mythos in her vision of this urban fantasy world. It is a very interesting background lesson. We also learn more of who and what Jane is.

Now – what I didn’t like. I really do not like the “anything in pants” thing Jane/Beast has going on. If there is going to be a love interest, let there be a love interest. But, that Jane (or her Beast alter ego) just kinda lusts after every male in the story is a huge detraction for me. It really overwhelmed the other aspects of the story and causes me to wonder if I really want to invest any more time in this world.

Again, I give this one 3.5 stars. I round it down to 3 simply because I liked it less than the last.

Comment Below ~ We want to hear from you.

