Sometimes a Rogue ~ Mary Jo Putney

  • Title: Sometimes a Rogue
  • Author: Mary Jo Putney
  • Series: Lost Lords #5
  • Genre: Historical Romance
  • Format: ebook
  • Source: Review copy
  • Reviewed by: DarthVal
  • Rating: 2.5 out of 5

Description:  Sometimes…

Even the most proper young lady yearns for adventure. But when the very well bred Miss Sarah Clarke-Townsend impulsively takes the place of her pregnant twin, it puts her own life at risk. If the kidnappers after her sister discover they’ve abducted Sarah instead, she will surely pay with her life…

A Rogue…

Rob Carmichael survived his disastrous family by turning his back on his heritage and becoming a formidable Bow Street Runner with a talent for rescuing damsels in distress. But Sarah is one damsel who is equal to whatever comes. Whether racing across Ireland with her roguish rescuer or throwing herself into his arms, she challenges Rob at every turn.

Review:  Every now and then I find myself in what I call Pride and Prejudice mood, where I crave a book with some romantic longing. During these times, I seek out what I like to think of as smart historical romance, books written with enough humor and adventure to hold my interest while quenching my occasional thirst for romance. Ms. Putney’s Lost Lord series is one of my go-to sources to satisfy this craving. I do so love an underdog, therefore the concept of a group of young men who were societal outcasts held some appeal for me. I have also come to appreciate the adventure and light humor of this series. Sometimes a Rogue is the fifth book in the Lost Lords series.

Taken by force, Sarah Clarke-Townsend, the twin sister of the heroine from the first book in the series, struggles to find means of escape. Meanwhile, Bow Street Runner, Rob Carmichael is determined to rescue Sara and return her safely to her family. Of course, sparks fly but they know they cannot be together. She is a woman of quality and he is the disowned black sheep of the family who has neither title nor wealth to offer her. Or does he? Dum, dum, dum duuuummmmm! Not the least predictable plot ever written, yet there is plenty of room to add some adventure into this lovey dovey romp.

It sounds like the perfect prescription for my P&P condition. Alas, the execution is quite lackluster. This book portrays two characters who really like each other a lot, and eventually realize they love one another. Where is the tension and yearning? Sigh, maybe the adventure makes up for the lack of chemistry? Not so much. The adventure is fine, just not overly daring or action-packed. It gets sidetracked by family and personal issues that seem to be, well, anti-climactic.

I do want to clarify that I am not saying that this is a bad book. It just does not pack the same punch as the others within the series. It just feels like the author was phoning it in a bit. The result is a book that is just ok. I do not regret reading it. After all, Ms. Putney is not the first author to publish a book that fails to measure up to the rest of the series. I’ve experienced enough humor and adventure in the previous books, that I shan’t hold this one against her.

*Disclaimer: A free copy of this book was provided to me for review by the publisher through the Net Galley program.

Comment Below ~ We want to hear from you.

