Beyond Pain ~ Kit Rocha

  • Title: Beyond Pain
  • Author: Kit Rocha
  • Series: Beyond #3
  • Genre: Erotica
  • Format: e-book
  • Source: Own copy
  • Reviewed by: Erica
  • Rating: 4.5 out of 5

Description:  A woman with no future…

Live fast, die young–anything else is a fantasy for Six. She’s endured the worst the sectors had to throw at her, but falling in with Dallas O’Kane’s Sector Four gang lands her in a whole new world of danger. They’re completely open about everything, including their sexuality–but she hasn’t survived this long by making herself vulnerable. Especially not to men as dominant as Brendan Donnelly.

A man without a past…

Bren is a killer, trained in Eden and thrown to the sectors. His one outlet is pain, in the cage and in the bedroom, and emotion is a luxury he can’t afford–until he meets Six. Protecting her soothes him, but it isn’t enough. Her hunger for touch sparks a journey of erotic discovery where anything goes–voyeurism, flogging, rough sex. He has only one rule: he won’t share her.

In Bren’s arms, Six is finally free to let go. But his obsession with the man who made him a monster could destroy the fragile connection they’ve forged, and cost him the one thing that makes him feel human–her love.

Review:  This is the third book in the dystopian erotica Beyond series, and I have been mulling over this review for a few days now, trying to figure out a rating, because I’ve been endlessly hesitating between four and five stars.

That this book is good isn’t in question. It is very good, as I have come to expect from this series. I’m just not sure that I liked it as much as I liked the previous two. It seemed to me that there was just a shade less wall-to-wall sex, a smidgen less plot to keep me occupied. Whether that is actually true I don’t even know for sure, but somehow it just felt like that to me.

I suppose part of the issue is that I was probably not as invested in this book’s main couple, Bren and Six. Brendan Donnelly is the right hand man of Dallas O’Kane, the leader of Sector Four. Bren was born in Eden, the luxurious city in the middle of the Sectors, and he was trained to be a ruthless special ops agent. Used by his superiors to execute the dirtiest jobs that no one in Eden is supposed to know about, Bren eventually went rogue and ended up with the O’Kanes. His past has left him with some serious issues, even if these are deeply buried, and in this book they come to the fore.

Six was introduced in the first book, Beyond Shame, as a woman who belonged to Trent Wilson, the feckless leader of Sector Three. Wilson set up a trap to kill Dallas, and while trying to spring that trap he foisted Six upon the O’Kanes, thereby branding her as a valueless woman for whom he no longer had any use. Until that point Six had been mercilessly abused by Wilson, both physically and mentally, and it left her deeply scarred and unable to trust anyone.

This book does a great job of showing the slowly building trust and lust between Bren and Six, and there is the usual point where everything blows up in their faces and they have to try and pick up the pieces again. The sex is, as always, awesome. I really cannot fault it for either of those parts.

I think another part of the issue is that throughout the book there are teasers seeded in for the next instalment in the series, which will centre around Rachel, Ace and Cruz. Since Ace is by far my favourite character in this series, I think I was enjoying those foreshadowings more than the main body of the book, and I really can’t wait for book four to come out.

I think I’ll have to go with 4.5 stars. I can’t give it four, because it’s too good for that, but I can’t give it five either, because I enjoyed it just that little bit less than the previous two. Still highly recommended though.